How to Make Affordable Handmade Wrapping & Packaging

It’s Merewether Designs, chatting to you about Paper Packaging for
Bookmark, you may not think this is the hottest topic, but hey, why not give this a read anyway, you might find it interesting!

Boxes for posting,
but products still need presenting and wrapping

As my followers will know I am now creating and producing my own handmade and laser cut products, this is very new and exciting! If you want to have a look, go to my Etsy page or, check them out here! My main focus is of course the products, but I have had to think about how I want to package them, which has been a bit of a stumbling block.

Packaging, where to start? well I thought to myself, what do I like and dislike about packaging. The answers to this questions is:

  • Simplicity and minimal frill is good – my personal style.
  • Packaging should not be oversized for the product, reduces waste.
  • The packaging should be simple to deconstruct, aim to not use adhesives.
  • The material should be recyclable, such as paper.

This list of packaging preferences has lead to Origami as a potential solution. Previously I have enjoyed experimenting with Origami and admittedly spent some time practising folding techniques. This was the right place for me to start looking for inspiration; on how to create my packaging.

Below are some experimental origami boxes, tested on magazine paper, some of these designs are great, but would not be suitable for the bookmark sleeve, which is what I have been focusing on.

Here is what I have decided to use for my bookmarks, I am really pleased with how it looks, the great thing about this is that the sleeves can be made on any colour paper, this gives my packaging great flexibility.

Brown parcel paper used for this package design.

In addition I can add the label with a split pin/paper fastener, which can be pierced through the paper. So all in all no plastic or adhesives were used in the label or the package design.

I am pleased to say that all the materials used here can be recycled at home, in the UK. The way the materials are used and put together are simple, but still refined and I hope that my customers enjoy the handmade packaging when their bookmarks arrive.

If you like this folded package design and label system, please give it the the thumbs up!

Would love to know what people think.

Merewether Designs X

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.